Confessions of a Cheating Vegan..

I messed up. Not too terribly, but again lack of planning makes it harder to be a vegan. I’m sensing this as a common theme this month but am going to try to be better about it! I am staying at a remote cabin and didn’t take the time to stop in town for some vegan staples before arriving. I made it through yesterday being good and eating a hodge podge of food that was available (fig bars, tomato soup, tabouli/salsa and chips, and made a weird tomato/onion stirfry for dinner that was actually pretty good). But this morning I couldn’t get by with just a banana (there is not even peanut butter around) so I “cracked” (pun intended) and made scrambled eggs. But I did NOT eat the bacon that I made for my boyfriend or put milk in the eggs like I normally would. I did put some butter on my toast.. dang it! But later I went to the store and bought all the supplies I’ll need for the next few days: peanut butter, small portion of almond milk, veggies and I finally found some nutritional yeast! I’m really excited to see what all the hype is about. I looked up a recipe online (vegangela.com: http://www.vegangela.com/2011/04/09/easy-baked-tomato-risotto/) for vegan risotto that calls for “nooch”, and I am in the process of making it now. It smells delicious, so I can’t wait to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

