Why am I doing this?

I hate to sound selfish, but I am taking on this challenge more for myself than for the animals it will help. Don’t get me wrong, I am very excited that that is going to be an added benefit, but the idea was inspired by my curiosity in nutrition and a plant-based diet. The past couple of years I have seen friends go vegan or vegetarian, read plenty of articles about the nutritional benefits of giving up animal products and have tried to educate myself on the meat industry. Maybe it’s been laziness or fear of how difficult it will be, but I haven’t gone all in up to this point. I’ve gone through phases of being vegetarian and have never been one to eat a lot of meat anyway, but I am finally ready to commit to cutting it out for a month to see what the benefits are and if it will change me in any way (I’ve heard the side effects can range from better skin and even breath to more energy to weight loss – who wouldn’t want to give that a try?). Giving up meat may be difficult at times, if only for the fact that you want something more when you can’t have it, but my real challenge is going to be my beloved cheese and eggs. Sigh. However, I know that at least cheese is never really giving me any nutritional benefit, so like a bad relationship I need to cut it off before I get too attached and prove to myself that I’m better off without it. The fact that I just spent 10 days in Paris gorging on the stuff should provide with me extra motivation to give it up. So here goes nothing, the month of July I will be focusing on eating vegetables, fruits, grains and beans to nourish and restore my body the way nature intended. And I guess if I’m saving some animals and helping out the environment at the same time, then I’m okay with that 🙂

2 thoughts on “Why am I doing this?

  1. Its nice to see people willing to give being vegan a shot for a month, i also agree about cheese when i first went vegan it was the only thing i missed and hard to replicate the same sort of tastes and flavours especially in the uk. Hope the month goes well and you discover some tasty food.
    Even if people dont stay vegan i think its a good challenge and experience to at least try it.
    good luck!

Leave a Reply

